Destination: Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam

Cambodia

Scribbles on the Lonely Planet help with my planning.

When my work contract finished up at the end of June I was excited to enjoy some ‘fun-employment’ and to maybe take a trip overseas.

So last week when I was offered a job that didn’t start until September I decided to book a flight to Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

Which has led to a frantic week of packing, researching visa requirements, studying the Lonely Planet, quizzing the local Pharmacist on how to avoid Malaria and overall getting myself in quite a tizz.

But the day has come and I am leaving tomorrow!

Thanks to some very helpful friends who have travelled through the area I have a very rough plan and will be relying on a bit of good luck to help me on my way.

So the basic plan is to fly into Phnom Penh and take a bus to Sihanoukville where I will explore some of the Cambodian Islands.

And by explore, I do mean lay on the beach with a book.

After that I will be heading up to Siam Reap via Phnom Penh then onto Kratie and Bah Lung.

Then it is onto Laos via a border crossing at Dom Kralor, the Four Thousand Islands, Pakse and Vientiane. After which I will make my way to Luang Prabang where I will fly to Hanoi to spend the last week in and around the Vietnamese city.

Whew! I am very excited and also petrified to be visiting third-world countries during the monsoon season. So the next time you will hear from me will be from somewhere in South East Asia!

One response to “Destination: Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam

Leave a Reply

