Thoughts on the last day of 2013

Island life on Koh Rong Island

Island life on Koh Rong Island

2013 was a crazy year for me. I had 4 different jobs and I technically only spent 10 months at home.

I was constantly on short term contracts at work and rather than taking a holiday I keep taking new contracts because a) I didn’t want to be caught out without an income and b) because I wanted to advance in my career.

By April I was exhausted. I was constantly thinking about what my next career move was going to be, constantly applying for jobs, worrying whether I should move to another country before I was too old to get a working visa, stressing that I didn’t have a partner, didn’t own property – I could go on.

By July I had had enough. I applied for a position that wasn’t to start for another 2 months. Within 1 week of being offered the job I was on a one way flight to Cambodia on my own.

It was the best thing I ever did. Those of you who have visited South East Asia will know that the pace is super slow, and that is an understatement!

I spent my first week in the south of Cambodia on Koh Rong Island and stayed in a wooden thatched roof bungalow 5 metres from the beach. I slept in, I read a book in my hammock, I had a daily fresh fruit smoothie and I fell asleep listening to waves lapping on the beach. Bliss.  

By the end of my trip I was so chilled out that while in a village in Laos I thought it was completely normal to wait 1.5 hours for service in a restaurant.  

I was ready to come home and deal with the real world. I can’t say that I haven’t been stressed since but I certainly feel like I have the strength to deal with it.

What I learnt is that I needed to take time out for myself, refocus and recharge.

And something else I did this year was start this blog which I love to take time out and write. So thank you to my little following of readers (of whom I suspect is mostly my family) and Happy New Year.  

Leave a Reply

